top of page

Warm Cut Crease & a Bold Red Lip- Spring Series #3

I'm not going to lie- cut creases can be intimidating, I know. It comes with trial and error, but once you get the hang of it and use the right brushes you're good to go! Also, watching tutorials helps too, as I watched the YouTuber Kathleen Lights's video on how to achieve a cut crease easily and that helped me a lot.

Your best friend when doing a cut crease is your concealer- that is what you are going to use to carve and cut your crease to achieve the look we want. The concealer I used today is my favorite Fit Me by Maybelline, and the eye shadow palettes I used were Modern Renaissance by ABH and the Tarteist Pro palette by Tarte. The shades I used were Warm Taupe from MR and Edgy from the Tarteist palette.

So, the order of steps are:

1. Prime the eyes. I always use concealer to prime eyes since I like that it color corrects and also acts as a good base for the shadows to come. I always set my concealer with a skin color shadow as well to ensure the coming shadows blend easily without sticking to the lid.

2. With a small crease brush slowly dip into your first shadow and start creating the crease shape you want, going in lightly and blending UPWARDS- you don't want to blend downwards since that will ruin the cut crease look. Do that until you get the desired pigmentation.

3. After that I went in with my MAC 224 blending brush and with a slightly darker shade I deepened the crease, blending both colors into each other to avoid harsh lines or colors, and create a transition of colors.

4. After this the next step is to carve the crease with concealer and a small brush. Taking a small brush I dipped it into my concealer wand and slowly started carving her crease to clean it all up and make that sharp cut crease shape. Filling in the whole space with concealer, I then went back in with the skin color shadow to set that.

5. Create a dramatic winged liner look to finish the eyes, giving the crease a more balanced and finished look. I used my NYC liquid liner in black.

The steps should look like this. The last image is after carving out the crease with concealer.

Since the eyes are sharply carved out, I wanted to create a balance and carve out the cheek bones as well. Using my ABH Contour kit in Light to Medium I carved out Arooba's cheeks and used my MAC blush in Love Joy to bring in that warm orange glow. Then, for the real glow, I went in with my favorite glow kit at the moment, the ABHxNicole Glow Kit, and used the shades Forever Young and Glo Getter. For the red lip I used L'oreal's matte lip in Eva's Red which really put the whole look together.

Here are some more images of the final look. Despite it seeming intimidating with the subtle cut crease, it is actually quite a wearable look!

I hope you guys enjoyed this new edition of my spring series, more coming soon!

bottom of page