top of page

Summer Makeup Series: Bright Green Eyes

One technique I love using when I do makeup on anyone or myself is using eye shadow colors or liners that really accentuate the eyes and make them stand out. Using complementary shades on eyes is a great way to really make any eye color pop and become the center of focus on the face.

My beautiful friend Eman has big green eyes that I knew I really wanted to stand out when doing her eye makeup, so I decided to use orange, brown, and pink tones on her eyes along with my favorite Sephora eyeliner that is brown with gold glitter- to make them really stand out.

The vision I had in my head was an orange-pink sunset eye look because not only will those shades accentuate her eyes, they would also compliment Eman's olive complexion. The eye palettes I used were the Modern Renaissance palette by ABH and the Tartiest Pro palette by Tarte.

Starting out with Burnt Orange as a transition shade in the over all crease, I then blended in Realgar (both from MR) into the outer crease and V of the eye to give it more depth. Then, I added Whimsy from the Tarte palette to the over all crease, just to add in that orange-peach hue. To add that subtle mauve-y pink color I wanted in the upper crease I used Mod with a MAC 224 blending brush to make sure the transition from pink to orange was seamless.

Then, to really pull the whole eye look together I used a small blending brush to apply Love Letter from MR to Eman's lower lash line, letting it meet the V of her eye where the orange was placed. Applying the bright pink hue under her eyes really made them pop and look brighter. To tie everything I had done together (her upper and lower lash lines), I used Sephora's Glitter Brown eyeliner to add some sparkle to the eye look.

Since makeup and fashion go hand in hand, Eman and I decided the look would look best paired with a really chic yet casual outfit, and this mossy green shirt from ZARA really went well with the makeup look. I love pairing solid colored tops with jeans or trousers on days where I want the focus of the look to be on my makeup- I even feel that the solid color of the shirt accentuates Eman's makeup and complexion even more.

I really enjoyed creating this look since it was fun to test different colors and how they looked together on Eman, especially with the goal of making her green eyes really stand out. I hope to do more content like this soon in my summer makeup and fashion series and create a variety of makeup and fashion looks!

bottom of page