top of page

Fashion School Year 1 Tips

I know, I know, its been about three months already since my first year at Ryerson University's School of Fashion has ended- but trust me, I needed those three months to recuperate. Fashion school is a crazy, fun, and hectic ride that one can't be prepared for no matter how much they prepare themselves- but thats what makes it so special. Here's a few things I wish I knew before for first year:

1. DON'T PANIC. IT ONLY MAKES ALL THE WORK SEEM SCARIER. First year is going to be challenging- there's no doubt about it. However, freaking out too much and giving yourself anxiety is only going to make it worse and seem impossible. More often than not your schedule will consist of back to back assignment deadlines so it is KEY to organize your time and priorities, making sure that you keep you physical and mental health an above all. A helpful tip is scheduling (as obvious as that sounds), but I've been in a few situations where my memory failed me and so writing or typing out all of your tasks can really save your life.

2. LEARN A BIT ABOUT SEWING- IT'LL MAKE YOUR LIFE EASIER. Ok so obviously loads of individuals are going to be going into this program with a sewing background, but lets not forget about those who're going in with zero knowledge on using a machine or how to sew. I know how you feel, and you'd be sursprised to know how many more people start out the program with no knowledge either. BUT trust me, one thing I wish I had done before starting was to take sewing classes or make myself comfortable around a machine. There are loads of YouTube videos online as well demonstrating the different parts of industrial sewing machines (the only ones you're allowed to use), as well as tutorials on how to use them. Learning basic stitches like top stitching, french seams, edge stitching, and under stitching will also be extremely helpful information and make Fashion Design feel ten times more possible.

3. THE PROFESSORS ARE NOT YOUR WORST ENEMIES. Trust me on this guys, I had a lot of really helpful and understanding profs this past year who really just want to push you to do your best. They care about your mental and physical health and want you to succeed, even though it might not feel like it sometimes. One piece of advice I can give is: Don't be afraid of meeting professors during their office hours! It may seem intimidating at first but office hour sessions with my profs really helped me get a more clear picture for my assignments and helped me make them the best they could be.

4. FOCUS ON YOURSELF. Before classes even started I was already intimidated just having seen the portfolio examples on the Ryerson Fashion website. Its easy to get nervous or scared by a few subjects you know you're not the best at, but always remember that you were chosen out of many to attend this program and deserve to be there. Focus on your own work during the year and try to challenge yourself to do your best. Don't compare yourself to the person next to you since that'll just make you second guess yourself and over complicate everything- remember, your biggest competition is you.

5. SURROUND YOURSELF WITH POSITIVE SUPPORT AND REMEMBER TO HAVE FUN. Having 'fun' will seem like something completely unattainable because of all the assignments due and all the time you don't have, but trust me, if you surround yourself with positive thinking and motivated people you'll be able to push through the year like a boss. The best memories I've made this past year were working after classes with friends and having a sense of mutual panic with them- as funny as that sounds. Staying in the sewing lab or lounge doing assignments along with people you can vibe with will make time feel like its flying by.

I hope these tips make you feel more 'in the know' about what to expect as a first year fashion student, and less intimidated as well! Good luck.

bottom of page